What our readers are saying…

“In Before and After, authors Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate tackle the true stories behind Wingate’s blockbuster Before We Were Yours, of the orphans who survived the Tennessee Children’s Home Society. With a journalist’s keen eye and a novelist’s elegant prose, Christie and Wingate weave together the stories that inspired Before We Were Yours with the lives that were changed as a result of reading the novel. Readers will be educated, enlightened, and enraptured by this important and flawlessly executed book.”

Pam Jenoff, author of The Orphan’s Tale and The Lost Girls of Paris

“Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate have given readers a precious gift in this book, in these haunting stories filled with both heartache and hope. What you hold in your hands is a testament to the power of family, faith, and the love that binds our human hearts. You will race through Before and After, but you will keep thinking about it long after the final page.”

Allison Pataki, author of Beauty in the Broken Places

“Fans who couldn’t get enough of Before We Were Yours will devour this book in a single sitting. In Before and After, Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate gracefully chronicle the experiences of survivors forever affected by a corrupt Tennessee orphanage, leading many to a life-altering reunion in search of healing. Not only a heart-wrenching and inspiring read but also a testament to the incredible power of storytelling.”

Kristina McMorris, author of Sold on a Monday and The Edge of Lost

“Lisa Wingate’s #1 New York Times bestselling novel Before We Were Yours brought worldwide attention to a shocking scandal of lost and stolen children. What she couldn’t know was that her novel would also become the catalyst for survivors, now in old age, to share their stories. Before and After, while at times a very sad and disturbing read, is ultimately a collection of astonishing real-life stories of strength, hope, and resilience in the face of the cruelest circumstances. If you read Before We Were Yours, you will devour Before and After.”

Amy Hill Hearth, coauthor of Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters’ First 100 Years

“Truly fascinating accounts of relatives lost and found, and of the reverberations through generations of countless families caused by a single person’s greed. These stories of strength, hope, and uncertainty will remain with me.”

Cea Sunrise Person, author of North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Unusual Family, and How I Survived Both

Newsletter Signup

Get the latest news from Author Judy Christie.
Simply sign up below to get started.

About Judy Christie

Judy is an author with 18 published books, including three Southern small-town series and her “Hurry Less Worry Less” series on how to slow down and enjoy life more.

She has been an award-winning newspaper reporter and editor for 25 years. Judy is married to a retired teacher and lives in rural Colorado.

Learn more about Judy >>

Speaking

Judy’s Topics

  • Getting to know the real-life adoptees from the Tennessee Children’s Home Society
  • Lessons Learned from Survivors of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society
  • How to Research and Write a Nonfiction Book
  • How to Save Your Family Stories with Storytelling & Interviewing
  • A Writing Journey: Why Books Matter Now More Than Ever

Learn more >>

What our readers are saying…

“Christie has developed a sweet community, with dogs that can be depended on for comic relief and assorted quirky townspeople with varying histories, squarely in the vein of Jan Karon’s Mitford or Charlene Baumbich’s Partonville.”

Publisher’s Weekly

“This charming series will appeal to fans of Jan Karon and Philip Gulley for its homespun feel.”

Library Journal

“Judy Christie creates characters you’ll want to know and places you’ll want to be. Don’t miss your chance to rally ’round with the gang from Green!”

Lisa Wingate, national bestselling author of Larkspur Cove and Dandelion Summer

“What are you waiting for? Come on down to Green and find out what all the fuss is about!”

Lenora Worth, New York Times bestselling author of Hometown Sweetheart